First time here? Sign up for a free account or log in

Forums » Other » Topic


Is this company for real?....
blanks2's Avatargold
Neil B
13,000
Insider Points

Hi, wonder if anyone can help me. I submitted an idea to a company called “Design mind Group” from Delaware and am wondering wether or not to send them money for market research.
They are asking for £488 (subsidised from £1000), to carry out the research, and I was prepared to pay until I read some reviews from other people on your forum from about a year ago, and am definitely having second thoughts.
Is there any more information on this company because I’m starting to get a bad feeling about it.
Thanks a lot,
Neil (England)

posted February 03, 2012 05:46 (
)


blanks2's Avatargold
Neil B
13,000
Insider Points

Thanks for your reply Greg, I am going to take a step back and think what my next move will be. This is my first invention idea so I am a novice at this type of thing and don’t feel 100% about them. If anyone could reassure me about them it might be a different story, but I don’t think thats going to happen somehow!
Thanks again, Neil

posted February 03, 2012 09:43 (
)
cowbell's Avatargold
Greg M
150,250
Insider Points

Welcome Neil. While I have no personal knowledge of the company, I would offer that you should never ignore a “bad feeling” or “gut instinct” when it comes to such matters. In my opinion, you should not send them a dime until you are 100% satisfied that they are legitimate.

A few concerns I had from lookin gover the site:

Generic- no About Us page, no Success stories, no names, generic Resources page……compare the tabs on the Edison Nation site, ABOUT, BLOG, etc…EN is very transparent ….easy to see who they are, what they do, how they do it…….even the blogs have staff profiles and photos…..I am not saying that all legit sites should look just like Edison Nation, but these Design Mind Group people do appear to be on the far opposite end of the spectrum……vague, generic, cold.

Reputation- In a few basic searches, I came across far more negative remarks than positive

Request for $$$$ – That is a lot of $$ for “research”……What exactly will they be doing with the $$?

Last point…….Click on their CONTACT button and you get an address in Wilmington……I show that address links to a VIRTUAL OFFICE company…..not a good sign…..again, more research needed and that is just a preliminary quick glance, but if indeed they are operating this thing with no physical address, not sure I would feel good about sending my $$ to a mystery location…..for 99 bucks a month, you too can list that address as the location of your business…..red flag…
http://virtualoffices.regus.com/search/default.htm

Just my two cents…..Welcome to EN – hope you find success with your idea!

posted February 03, 2012 06:42 (
)



« Return to the forums index page