Have any of you heard of “Khaimah Corpotation” in the United Arab Emirates? They contacted me by e-mail, wanting an outright sale and all its rights of an invention I have a patent on. All I can find is there home page, which was also in their e-mail. I have been contacted in the past by scammers & I hate to go down that path again. Please Help
Forums » Other » Topic
| scam -or- not | |
|---|---|
|
brenda surber
|
|
|
|
|
|
Rene Freeland
45,500
Insider Points
|
This is a scam – Read on, this is what they sent me. They will eventually want you to give them financial information in order to clear customs with two trunks of money. From: Ali Hussain <dralihussain001@yahoo.com> I will forward your contact info to the diplomat to enable him contact you for the fund consignments clearing and it subsequent delivery to you when he arrives either Ontario-Canada or Europe with the fund consignments The diplomat can also help you deliver the fund consignment to your home base under diplomatic cover if you cannot travel to any of the above city for the fund claim. If this arrangement is okay by you let me know so that I can start getting the fund ready for onward delivery to you and I will also send to you an agreement for your perusal and eventual signing the agreement would govern and bind us in this transaction From: Dr Ali Hussain <dralihussain001@gmail.com> I am Dr Ali Hussain, I am a business mogul based in the United Arab Emirates and presently I am into hospitality, real estate and stock trades but due to the need for expansion and to explore into the manufacturing sector. I am thus interested in the outright buyout of your invention for subsequent manufacturing and distribution due to its great market prospect and potentials in view of this I will urge to please send any additional information you have on the invention to enable me decide on my offer for the patent right buyout in my subsequent email to you Regards |
|
Don McCammon
|
If they want money, its a scam. I always require “good faith money” up front when I do a licensing deal. |
|
Don Kelly
|
It looks like you’re all wise to the UAE scam. They find inventors’ addresses on the issued patent document and send out tons of “too good to be true” letters. The International Licensing Executives Society has members in Dubai (and most other countries). Last year I emailed those ILES members and told them about the licensing offers in question. My ILES colleagues were irate and investigated on their own. They could find no trace of any such companies (they would have to be registered). Our conclusion was that the scammers had nothing to do with the UAE/Dubai etc. The other thing that makes it all so fishy is that the inventions involved in the scam never have foreign patent coverage…so, there’s no reason for a UAE or other foreign entities to buy/license a US patent, unless they are interested only in exporting to the US market. d |
|
Lesia InTexas
|
That was too cute Sir Edward….lol…. |
|
James Lim
|
Brenda Surber, was the photo of a little girl you or junior? Anyway, please engage an affordable patent specialist lawyer to help you if you persist in doing so for a good reason. However, do not be complacent when you are spending money excessively and unnecessarily just for a simple application concerning your patented product(s). |
|
joseph jackson
121,250
Insider Points
|
Words of wisdom, I would not deal with a company over seas because our laws do not govern them.with that said when in doubt get the heck out. |
|
Alecia Grant
|
Brenda just feel them out and listen to what they have to offer. You do not have to pay any money to anyone. Ask important questions when speaking to these people. Anyone can scam a person out of his/her money. |
|
Tammy L
104,250
Insider Points
|
It’s a $12,650 SCAM (No we didn’t give them any money, we were just interested in learning how much the scammers were trying to get. ) Here’s what happens next:“With reference to your request for approval of a new technology under jurisdictions of the Gulf Cooperation Council, we have attached the related application forms and authorization document which must be filled out and returned to us by “email attachment” or “fax”. Omani Associates" |
|
Greg M
150,250
Insider Points
|
Too funny Ed! |
|
Justin Bledsoe
|
This is definitely a scam. After executing a purchase agreement, here’s how it ends . . . “Please be informed that we have been notified by the manufacturers that all new technologies intended for execution within the Gulf region must be duly registered with the Gulf Cooperation Council, and approved by the Council of Ministers. They have cautioned the investors on the great risk posed with regards to future possibility of infringement matters that may arise in the course of executing new technologies within the Gulf regions. The investors have been advised that such new technologies must be approved by the Council of Ministers of the Gulf Cooperation Council, in order to protect the investors from any future infringement cases that could arise in the course of executing the invention within the region. In line with this the inventor/seller of such new technologies are required to register them with the Gulf Cooperation Council, in order to obtain approval and authorization of the Council of Ministers. This measure is established to provide ample government protection for the purchasers/investors to execute new technologies without fear of interference from third parties that could come up with infringement claims. Consequently, the investors will only proceed with the agreed 50 percent down payment when the GCC registration and Council of Ministers approval of the xxxxxx technology is in place, thereby guaranteeing their investment of government protection and intervention, should cases of infringement arise anytime in the future. We are informed that the Gulf Cooperation Council registration and approval process by the Council of Ministers takes only a few days to accomplish; which should allow for ample time to make the down payment and subsequently close the deal on schedule. For your expediency, you may contact the Gulf Cooperation Council Registrar (Omani Associates) for the registration process. You can contact them via email registrar@omani.ws and also reach them by phone at +971-5029-44925. As soon as registration process is completed, kindly forward the particulars for the investors attention, to facilitate prompt remittance of the down payment. In the mean time we shall proceed with making arrangements for our delegates trip to xxxxx for the closing of the deal. |
|
kevin mayo
|
Sir Edward….WOW that is the funniest thing I have seen in a while…Good luck Brenda and be careful. |
|
Sir Edward
|
|
|
Randal Turner
|
Hello Brenda, Still a 1% chance you never know right ;-) Randal Turner |
|
Rafael Avila
|
Ras al-Khaimah is one of the emerates of the United Arab Emirates. It’s kind of like a state here in the USA. So when you see Al-Khaimah as part of the name of a business from the UAE, you’re looking at the equivalent of New York in a US business name. I used to own New York Pizza and Pasta. To someone from Dubai, that probably sounds pretty official. But it was one of dozens of restaurants with the word “New York” in the name. |
|
brenda surber
|
Thanks Don & Tania, |
|
dond invents
309,000
Insider Points
|
Hi, I would be suspicious as well. Suggest you Google the company an see waht else you can find. I did a quick search and found the following job post from them (http://www.dubizzle.com/job/jobs-wanted/2009/1/17/khaimah-corporation/) Who We Are and What We Do Khaimah Corporation is a Business Management Consultancy for Small, Medium and Large Enterprises. We specialise in Corporate Strategy, Business Funding, Marketing Strategy, Business Planning and implementation. Clients range from start-ups, though to small family firms with a turnover in excess of $1 million and up to International companies turning over $100 million plus. Why We Are Different We are a central team with Consultants who are experts in their field, from ex-bankers who know how to get Small Firms Loans to trained Consultants in Business Strategy. Above all, we have a “get things done” attitude and try to be creative in problem solving for our clients. Khaimah Plaza Give the little above information is your patent a fit for them? There web site does not talk about assets they acquired (patents for example) or their desire to do so. If you think the offer is sincere than I would contact your patent lawyer and ask if they can help negotiate a sale or refer you to someone that can help negotiate a deal.I would not do anything with Khaimah myself. Don |
|
Account Removed
|
http://khaimahcorporation.weebly.com/ I dunno about this one. If a corporation was a well run corporation,wouldn’t one have to ask why they have a free running website from weebly.com?? I don’t know anything about them. Good luck and you know the old saying…if you think it’s a scam, it probably is :-) |
« Return to the forums index page
